The West Wing – Pilot episode

Tonight in class, we watch the pilot episode as well as the following episode of The West Wing. I always heard a lot about this show but being only seven years old when it was created, you can say I did not have much interest. My parents always watched the show but I was too busy being a kid. Anyone who knows me can tell you that I am not that politically intelligent. I know more or less the basics of politics but other than that I would be completely lost. I thought that I would be so behind while watching this show, but surprisingly I wasn’t. The show is a drama that takes place in the West Wing of the White House where the Oval Office resides and other important staff offices. I was delighted to see a lot of familiar faces such as Martin Sheen, Rob Lowe and Allison Janney. I even thought the actress Moira Kelly, who played Mandy Hampton in the show, was a different actress named Lizzy Caplan. This is ironic because this past Wednesday Lizzy Caplan appeared in a new episode of Allison Janney’s new television show ‘Mr. Sunshine’ starring Matthew Perry. I just found the whole situation a strange coincidence. I am also a fan of Rob Lowe and found it interesting how his character is involved with a call girl and it could ruin his career if this news is ever discovered. This strikes a weird resemblance to his actual life, whereas a similar sex scandal of his was leaked to the public and dented his career for a while. Next on the list is Martin Sheen. I am a fan of Martin Sheen’s work and respect him as an actor. It is quite comical after everything that is happening with his son Charlie Sheen to envision him as the President of the United States. Luckily enough he isn’t the actual president because if he was, he would lose a lot of votes due to his sons antics. Or he might gain a lot, you never know. Besides my enthusiasm towards the actors in this series,  I did actually enjoy watching it. I feel it could help me understand politics a lot more than I currently do, and I am curious to know what happens next with the series characters. I want to know what happens with Sam (Rob Lowe) and his call girl. I want to know if Josh and Mandy (Bradley Whitford and Moira Kelly) get back together. I also want to know if C.J. (Allison Janney) becomes more aggressive and stops covering other peoples mistakes as her own. I hope we are able to watch a few more episodes in upcoming classes this semester.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

