Ground Zero Mosque – T.V. Ad

There are so many thoughts currently running through my head at the moment. After watching this video I have so much to say that I do not even know where to begin. I’ll probably start off my giving my opinion and view on this whole ‘Ground Zero Mosque Building’ decision. My family unfortunately lost a loved one from the 9/11 attacks, and it is always a sensitive subject for me to talk about. My first cousin, Timothy Patrick McSweeney, was a firefighter for Ladder Company 3, and one of the twelve people Ladder 3 lost that day. Upon hearing the news that there are plans in the works to build a mosque within the vicinity of Ground Zero, I remained bias. I did not want to start a debate against people regarding a very difficult topic. I am a proud American, and I was able to understand both sides arguments. Getting back to the video, you can instantly see and feel the negative connotation and vibes it gives off towards its audience. The first thing the video says is: “The audacity of Jihad”. First of all, the word ‘jihad’ when translated from Arabic to English, is a Islamic term that means ‘struggle’. Which most people can relate too. The main message the creators of this video want to get across to their audience is that ALL muslims are terrorists, which is not true. The video also disregards the fact that the mosque would be built in the vicinity of Ground Zero, instead they imply that it will be build on the very same ground. They even claim that all muslims will be rejoicing in the mosque, to celebrate their victory for destroying the World Trade Center. A mosque is a place of worship for followers of Islam, not a place to rejoice and celebrate the death of thousands. It was obvious the use of contrasting words in this video to get its audience riled up. What was worse than the words chosen in this video, were the images picked to be showed. All the images were negative ones, showing the collapse of the towers and the attacks on September 11th. They even showed video clips of Muslims dancing and being merry. However, this does not mean that they were celebrating anything even remotely close to the 9/11 attacks. As I remain neutral, I am still able to remember that day vividly, even if I were only nine years old. That day affected everyones lives, and videos like these do not help. It just goes to show how many people can be manipulated by the media.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ground Zero Mosque – T.V. Ad

  1. professor Dunphy says:

    Chris,

    THis is a powerful post– honest, thoughtful and thought-provoking… you were able to balance the tragedy you and your family have endured with an even-handed response to a terrible ad.

    Well done on that.

    I appreciate the honesty, I truly do.

    Now to the blogs.

    I read nothing but good things.

    PD

Leave a Reply

