It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia – Season 2, Episode 9: The Gang Exploits A Miracle

I myself am Catholic and I found this episode entertaining. I think its a refreshing break from reality and everybody should be able to laugh once in a while. In this episode I was able to relate to Mac a lot. I think in most episodes I am able to relate to Mac, except for the difference between his body build and confident personality, we have a lot in common. The way Mac reacts to his faith and God is the way any practicing Catholic would react. Of course Mac has committed sins, (a few more than most people) he has a good heart and his ‘fear’ of God is what depicts his strong religious values. Mac does not like how Charlie is seen as the most religious out of the group and by others, because he knows that in reality he is more religious. Mac knows the most about Catholicism and actually practices it. Granted in some episodes he uses it for his own personal favors. Including this episode, he exploits his faith. What pissed Mac off the most was when Charlie said to him “Dude if you don’t think you’re going to hell, you need to take a long look at yourself!”. This is an insult towards Mac because personality has a sensitive side. Mac is always trying to please people. He knows that, even though he sins at times, God will allow him into heaven when he dies. But the fact that Charlie actually noticed and said he is going to hell, worries Mac. Mac feels that he might actually end up in hell. Mac personality varies and has polar opposites to it. This episode allows us to witness that.

Also in this episode is another rare opportunity where the audience is able to see Dea be the person using others, rather than people using her all the time. Dea thrives on the occasion to use others for her personal gain. Since Dennis and Frank are constantly insulting Dea, she takes an advantage she can get to inflict that pain back on some other poor defenseless stranger. It is moments like these where the audience is able to recognize the family trait and similarities between Dea and Dennis. Even Frank at times.

One of my favorite lines in this episode was said by Charlie when he states “This is one of the more ridiculous things we have ever done dude!” I found it amusing because it is the first time the characters show to the audience that they know the things they do are dangerous, irresponsible, ridiculous and idiotic. However, they continue to do it. I was also able to catch the lines of this episode so quickly because my DVD would not turn off the subtitles, so most of the time I found myself reading along with the episode.

I watched this episode by myself again, alone in my bedroom on a Monday night. I would give this episode a 3.5/5 rating because in no way, shape or form did it compare to ‘Hundred Dollar Baby’ episode. I do not know why, but in my opinion, I just felt like this episode was dragging on without a purpose.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia – Season 2, Episode 9: The Gang Exploits A Miracle

  1. professor Dunphy says:

    I like how you compare all the episodes to Hundred Dollar Baby…

    This is very sharp: One of my favorite lines in this episode was said by Charlie when he states “This is one of the more ridiculous things we have ever done dude!” I found it amusing because it is the first time the characters show to the audience that they know the things they do are dangerous, irresponsible, ridiculous and idiotic.

    I love Charlie. He’s great.

    They are extremely self-aware (Charlie & Mac, yes… Dee, Dennis & Frank, not so much) and this balance is what makes the show work.

    Charlie is the hero of the show… and that line really seals it up for me.

    But then again, the waitress wasn’t involved.

    I hope you enjoy seasons 3-7…

Leave a Reply

